When it comes to lock grades, the first thing you need to know is that not all locks are the same in terms of quality. The locks that you see at your local DIY stores that you can get for cheap can’t compare to the locks that are provided by the experts at Western Lock Services, simply because they vary in overall quality.


In order to have a grasp on how locks are classified into the different grades, you need to understand how a lock’s quality is measured.

The main points that determine a lock’s quality and durability are:

  • Cycle count (number of uses before the hardware breaks)
  • Functional strength
  • Security
  • Dimension
  • Finish requirements

There is a reason why the locks are categorized into different grades, it’s so you are using the correct grade for the right application. That’s why lock Grade is the most important part of determining the correct lock for your needs.

There are three different hardware grades:

  • Grade 1: Heavy-duty commercial
  • Grade 2: Light-duty commercial
  • Grade 3: Residential


Each grade of lock meets a specific set of needs. For example, Grade 3 locks are a basic form of security, and are the kind of lock that you can easily find at your local DIY store and purchase for a relatively cheap price. However, if you’re looking for a higher level of security for your home or business, that’s where Grade 2 and 1 come in, which are the kinds of locks that you can get from Western Lock Services.

When searching the right locks for your home or business, always consider what your needs are. If you wanting to make your home more secure, opt for a Grade 2 lock at least for the doors to the outside. You get what you pay for. If you are going to pay $10-$20 for a lock, how long are you really expecting the lock to last?

If you have any questions or queries about what locks to get for your home or business or you are looking to improve your security, just contact us by email at info@westernlock.co.nz or call on 09 832 7602